Khalifa Early Learning Award 2026
By Khalifa Award for Education
Check your eligibility
Sign up and we'll tell you whether your startup qualifies for this grant.
Quick Answer
A US$100,000 (about ₹95 lakh) award for the best early learning programme and the best early learning research, for children from birth to eight. Open worldwide until 31 December 2026.
- Funding amount
- Varies
- Funding type
- Competition
- Provider
- Khalifa Award for Education
- Application deadline
- 54d — 31 Dec 2026
- Location
- International
About this competition
The Khalifa International Award for Early Learning is run by the Khalifa Award for Education in the United Arab Emirates. For the 2026 cycle it is promoted together with HundrED, a Finnish nonprofit that finds and shares education innovations, as a Spotlight on Early Learning Impact. It gives US$100,000 (about ₹95 lakh) to each of two winners, and applications close on 31 December 2026.
What the program offers
There are two categories and one winner in each. Each winner receives US$100,000 (about ₹95 lakh), a trophy, a certificate and international recognition from HundrED and the Khalifa Award for Education. Winners are featured in a Spotlight report published by HundrED and are invited to the awards ceremony in Abu Dhabi.
If an institution wins, the money is transferred to its official bank account. If a team wins, the amount is split equally among the team members. The Award secretariat pays the winner's air ticket, hotel stay and entry visa for the ceremony, but not for anyone accompanying them. The source does not set rules on how the money must be spent.
Who can apply
Individuals, teams, institutions and organisations can apply. The work must concern early learning for children from birth to eight, which is the UNESCO definition of early childhood the award follows. The two categories are:
- Best Programs, Curricula, Teaching Methodologies and Practices, for initiatives that improve early learning in formal settings such as childcare centres and schools, or informal ones such as home learning. The programme must already have been evaluated, with evidence of how it was carried out and its impact.
- Best Research and Studies, for research that has already been published in some form, such as a report, a book chapter or a journal article. The publication is the basis for the application, not the application itself.
You may apply in one category only, once a year. The work must not have been prepared as a degree requirement, and you must not have received another award in the same field for the same or similar work in the past two years, including this year. Teams and organisations name an authorised representative who knows the work well.
For an Indian applicant: the award is international, and the source states no country restriction. An Indian edtech startup, a school network or an NGO with an evaluated early-years programme fits well. A very new product with no evaluation yet does not.
How to apply
Choose a category and prepare an abstract of up to 300 words and an application of up to 10 pages, single-spaced in 12-point Times New Roman, plus an optional appendix of up to 3 pages with links. Answer the four judging criteria. Submit in English through the online system at el.khaward.ae by 31 December 2026; Arabic applications are not considered. For the programmes category, HundrED also asks you to submit your innovation page on its website. A practical tip: back each claim with evaluation data, because both categories require evidence.
How applications are judged and what happens next
Programme entries are judged equally on innovativeness, importance, impact and feasibility or sustainability. Research entries are judged equally on innovativeness, importance, methodological rigour and impact. A screening committee reviews entries from January to March 2027, and an independent award committee of early childhood experts selects the winners. Winners are announced in April 2027. The guide book places the ceremony in May 2027, while the HundrED page says April 2027, so confirm the date.
About the Khalifa Award for Education
The Khalifa Award for Education was founded in 2007 in the UAE. It rewards outstanding innovators in academic and learning fields to raise education standards in the UAE, the Arab world and globally. The Early Learning award was launched globally in 2021. HundrED is a Finnish nonprofit that identifies and shares education innovations.
Things to check before you apply
- Only individual winners appear on stage, and a representative cannot receive the award on a winner's behalf.
- The secretariat may publish the winning work on the award website.
- The source does not state an application fee.
Eligibility
See if you're eligible
Full eligibility criteria — entity type, stage, sector, founder profile and registration requirements — plus your fit for this program. Sign up to view.
Organizers
Prizes & Awards
What You Get
One winner in each category receives US$100,000 (about ₹95 lakh), a trophy and a certificate. An institution's award is paid into its official bank account; a team's award is split equally among its members. The award secretariat pays the winner's flight, hotel and entry visa to attend the ceremony in Abu Dhabi, but not for anyone accompanying them. Winners are also featured in a Spotlight report by HundrED.
- Disbursement
- Lump Sum
- Bootstrap friendly
- Yes
Timelines & Process
Selection Process
A screening committee checks and reviews applications from January to March 2027, and an independent award committee of early childhood experts picks one winner per category. Winners are announced in April 2027 and honoured at a ceremony in Abu Dhabi.
Application Process
- 1
Prepare your entry
Write the abstract and the application against the four judging criteria.
You - 2
- 3
- 4
How to apply
Four steps from draft to disbursement — one action each.
- 1
Submit on the official portal
Use the official application link and verify all details before final submission.
- 2
Follow up
Reach out 5–7 days after submitting to confirm receipt and ask about the review timeline.
Frequently Asked Questions
Who can apply for the Khalifa International Award for Early Learning?
Individuals, teams, institutions and organisations can apply with work on early learning for children from birth to eight. Programmes must have been evaluated and research must already be published.
Can an Indian startup or NGO apply?
The award is international and the source states no country restriction, so an Indian startup, NGO or school can apply if its work fits the rules. An institution's award is paid into its own bank account.
How much is the Khalifa Early Learning Award?
US$100,000 (about ₹95 lakh) for each of the two winners, plus a trophy and a certificate. There is one winner per category.
How is the prize paid?
For an institution the money goes straight to its official bank account. For a team it is divided equally among the members. The source does not name the payout currency beyond the US$ amount.
What is the deadline and what if it has passed?
Applications close on 31 December 2026. The source describes this as the 2026 cycle and does not state the next round, so watch el.khaward.ae.
Is it a grant or equity?
It is an award with no equity mentioned. The source sets no rules on how the money must be spent.
What do I need to submit?
An abstract of up to 300 words and an application of up to 10 pages in English, answering the four judging criteria, with an optional 3-page appendix. Programme applicants also submit an innovation page on HundrED.
Do I have to travel to Abu Dhabi?
Not to apply. Winners are invited to the ceremony in Abu Dhabi, where the secretariat pays the winner's flight, hotel and visa but not those of anyone accompanying. Only individual winners appear on stage and no representative may accept the award for them.
Is it free to enter?
The source does not state an application fee.
When are the results announced?
Screening runs from January to March 2027 and winners are announced in April 2027. The guide book puts the ceremony in May 2027, while HundrED says April 2027.
Sources
Data on this page is compiled from official program and provider references.








