Lloyd's Register Foundation Small Grants 2026
By Lloyd's Register Foundation
Check your eligibility
Sign up and we'll tell you whether your startup qualifies for this grant.
Quick Answer
Grants of up to £10,000 (about ₹12 lakh) for pilots, proof-of-concept work and partnerships that make engineering, infrastructure, maritime and public life safer. Closes 14 December 2026.
- Funding amount
- Varies
- Funding type
- Grant
- Provider
- Lloyd's Register Foundation
- Application deadline
- 38d — 15 Dec 2026
- Location
- International
About this grant
The Lloyd's Register Foundation Small Grants Programme 2026 gives grants of up to £10,000 (about ₹12 lakh) to registered organisations whose projects help make life and property safer. Lloyd's Register Foundation is a UK charity with the mission of engineering a safer world. Organisations from anywhere in the world can apply, and the foundation expects most of the money to go to organisations outside the UK. Applications close on Monday 14 December 2026 at 23:59 GMT, which is early morning on 15 December in India.
What the program offers
The grant is for up to £10,000 (about ₹12 lakh) for projects of up to 12 months. Smaller requests are welcome if they fit the size of the work. The foundation's own idea is that "a little can go a long way", so this is seed money for a pilot or a first step, not a large programme budget. The source does not state a payment schedule, so ask about it if you are shortlisted. A final report is required at the end, covering how the money was used, what was delivered, the results and what you learned.
The programme backs three kinds of work. First, projects that start, build or strengthen partnerships with organisations in relevant sectors. Second, projects that test ideas, such as pilot studies, proof-of-concept work, research, knowledge exchange or other small projects that link to the foundation's priorities, including maritime, heritage and the public sector. Third, projects that use data from any wave of the foundation's World Risk Poll to produce insight, learning or resources for a specific audience.
Who can apply
Registered organisations of many types can apply: companies, social enterprises, NGOs, charities, community and voluntary groups, academic and research institutions, and public bodies. Individuals cannot apply. You must be able to manage funds responsibly, deliver measurable results and provide recent financial documents such as annual accounts. Generally one application per lead organisation is considered in each call, although separate lead organisations with separate delivery teams may be allowed. Partnerships are encouraged but not required.
The project must give a clear public benefit, meaning safer lives or less risk for people and communities, not only private or commercial gain, and the findings must be shared publicly. For an Indian company, NGO or research institute, this means you can apply directly; the source sets no country restriction. It suits a registered Indian organisation with a small, well-defined safety project. It does not suit an individual without a registered entity.
How to apply
Start by reading the guidance and completing the eligibility checker on the programme page. Then register on the foundation's online grants portal and complete the form, which covers project details, expected impact and finances. You must accept the foundation's standard terms and conditions; the source says changes to them will not be considered.
The finance section asks for clear, proportionate costs that show value for money, and an explanation of how the grant will be kept separate within your organisation's finances. Overheads must be worked out, justified and directly linked to the project, with a detailed breakdown. Flat-rate or percentage charges without supporting calculations are not accepted. A practical tip: prepare your budget workings and latest annual accounts before you open the form. Under the World Risk Poll route, the Poll data must be essential to the project, you need a clear research or evidence output, and the scope should be small, without heavy primary data collection.
How applications are judged and what happens next
Proposals are assessed on four points: fit with the foundation's mission and strategy, feasibility and proportionality, innovation and learning potential, and delivery and accountability. Organisations that are shortlisted can be checked for legal status and governance, bank details, financial position and the capacity and track record to deliver. More documents may be requested. The foundation aims to decide within 12 weeks of the closing date, though due diligence or questions can make it longer. It does not correspond about decisions after assessment.
About Lloyd's Register Foundation
Lloyd's Register Foundation is a registered charity in England and Wales and also a limited company. It owns Lloyd's Register Group Limited. Its work covers safer maritime systems, safer infrastructure, skilled people for safer engineering, a Global Safety Evidence Centre, a Heritage Centre and the World Risk Poll.
Things to check before you apply
- The foundation does not pay for full salaries or general overheads, though reasonable staff time spent delivering the project can be included if justified.
- Capital works, retrospective funding, lobbying, archaeological fieldwork, conservation of historic vessels, tuition fees, core equipment and business or first-class travel are not funded.
- Fishing safety projects are asked to look first at the International Fund for Fishing Safety, which handles most of the foundation's fishing safety funding.
- The grant is paid in pounds sterling, so plan for exchange-rate differences. The source does not say how the payment is made.
- Late applications are not accepted, so submit well before the closing time.
Eligibility
See if you're eligible
Full eligibility criteria — entity type, stage, sector, founder profile and registration requirements — plus your fit for this program. Sign up to view.
Grant providers
Benefits & Funding
- Fund type
- Grant
What You Get
Selected organisations receive a grant of up to £10,000 (about ₹12 lakh); smaller requests are welcome where they fit the scope. Reasonable staff time spent delivering the project can be included if it is proportionate and justified, but the foundation does not fund full salaries or general overheads. Any overheads in the budget must be calculated and justified line by line. Co-funding from other sources is acceptable if the foundation's contribution is distinct.
- Bootstrap friendly
- Yes
Timelines & Process
Selection Process
Proposals are assessed on fit with the foundation's mission, feasibility and proportionality, innovation and learning potential, and delivery and accountability. Shortlisted organisations go through checks of legal status, governance, bank details, finances and track record. The foundation aims to decide within 12 weeks of the closing date, and does not give feedback on drafts or correspond about decisions.
Application Process
- 1
Eligibility check
Read the guidance and complete the eligibility checker.
You - 2
- 3
- 4
- 5
How to apply
Four steps from draft to disbursement — one action each.
- 1
Draft your application
Answer the form inside the grant tracker — AI drafts each response using your past answers, so you're not starting from a blank page.
- 2
Submit on the official portal
Use the official application link and verify all details before final submission.
- 3
Follow up
Reach out 5–7 days after submitting to confirm receipt and ask about the review timeline.
Frequently Asked Questions
Who can apply for the Lloyd's Register Foundation Small Grants Programme?
Registered organisations such as companies, social enterprises, NGOs, charities, community groups, academic and research institutions and public bodies can apply. Individuals cannot. You also need to be able to manage funds and show recent financial documents, such as annual accounts.
Can Indian startups and NGOs apply for the Lloyd's Register Foundation Small Grants?
Yes. The source says the programme funds work globally and expects most funding to go to organisations outside the UK, particularly in developing economies. It sets no country restriction, but the organisation must be registered and the project must give a public benefit.
How much is the Lloyd's Register Foundation Small Grant?
Up to £10,000 (about ₹12 lakh) per project, for projects of up to 12 months. Smaller requests are welcome if they match the scope of the work.
How is the grant paid?
The source does not state a payment schedule. It does say the grant is in pounds sterling, and that shortlisted organisations are checked on their bank details and finances before an award is confirmed.
What is the deadline for the Small Grants Programme, and what if it has passed?
Applications close on Monday 14 December 2026 at 23:59 GMT, and late applications are not accepted. The source does not mention a next round, so if you miss it you would need to watch the foundation's page for any future call.
Is the Lloyd's Register Foundation grant a grant or equity?
It is a grant. The source describes no equity or repayment. Companies can apply, but the project must give a public benefit and share its findings publicly, not only serve private or commercial interests.
What can the grant be spent on, and what is not funded?
It can cover costs of a pilot, proof of concept, research, knowledge exchange, partnership building or World Risk Poll analysis, including reasonable staff time. Full salaries, general overheads, capital works, retrospective funding, lobbying, core equipment, tuition fees and business-class travel are not funded.
What documents do I need to apply?
You complete the online form covering project details, impact and a proportionate budget, and you should have recent financial documents such as annual accounts ready. If you charge overheads, you need a detailed, justified breakdown rather than a flat percentage.
Do I have to travel anywhere?
The source mentions no required travel or event. It only says business-class and first-class travel cannot be funded. Any travel would be part of your own project plan and budget.
Is it free to apply, and when will I hear the result?
The source mentions no application fee. The foundation aims to decide within 12 weeks of the closing date, although this may take longer if more checks or clarification are needed.
Sources
Data on this page is compiled from official program and provider references.









